#2 Evan Golembieski of Cienega is guarded by #11 Sam O’Dowd and #52 Luis Blanco Ruiz.

A full day of exciting basketball took place at McKale Center on January 15 during the 2024 MLK Basketball Classic sponsored by Tucson Unified School District and Coaches for Charity.
Mayla Trejo scored 17 points to lead the St. David Lady Tigers to a 55 to 24 victory over the Baboquivari Warriors.
In other girls’ action, Yuri Shimosaka posted 23 three points including hitting five three-pointers to lead the Cholla Chargers to a 48 to 17 win over the Desert View Jaguars.
The Rio Rico Hawks defeated the Palo Verde Titans 71 to 20 behind 23 points by Natalia Gonzalez.
Destiny Brown netted 23 points to lead the Tucson High School Badgers to a 51 to 44 victory over the Nogales Apaches.
In Boys’ action, Tyson Dobbins scored 16 points to lead the Desert Christian Eagles to a 53 to 39 come-from-behind win over the Benson Bobcats.
The Tanque Verde Hawks soared over the Catalina Trojans with a 77 to 27 victory. Phil Knott led the Hawks in scoring with 19 points.
Freshman Jackson Moore led all scorers as the Cienega Bobcats clawed past Rincon, University High School 78 to 57.
Cisco Llamas scored 13 and Teddy Simpson added 11 points as the Sahuaro Cougars defeated the Pueblo Warriors 63 to 31.
The day of basketball began in the morning with a 5th grade and under co-ed exhibition game between the Howell Hawks and the Gallego Wildcats. 5th grader Matthew Quiroz scored 9 points to lead Gallego to a 25 to 6 victory over Howell.

Cholla’s Aniyah Wilmott drives to the basket.
Sahuaro’s Cisco Llamas scored 13 points to lead the Cougars in a win over Pueblo.
Rio Rico’s Narely Zazueta is surrounded by #1 Madison Midock-Hoffman, #23 Sydney Menez, and #15 Paige White.
Pima County Sports Hall of Famer Dale López officiated the 5th grade and under co-ed exhibition game between Gallego and Howell.
Some of the many MLK Basketball Classic volunteers. Working the scorer’s table were Rozina and Kris Ritzmann, Alejandro Lopez Delgado, Carlos Delgado, Dale López, and Tony Delgado.

TUSD Governing Board:
Dr. Ravi Shah – President
Val Romero – Clerk
Jennifer Eckstrom
Natalie Luna Rose
Sadie Shaw

TUSD Superintendent:
Dr. Gabriel Trujillo

Assistant Superintendents:
Shawna Rodriguez
Richard Sanchez
Holly Leman Hammel
Mark Alvarez
Brian Lambert
Flori Huitt
Kinasha Brown
Frank J Armenta

9:00 AM: ReCharde Johnson,
Rafael Gallego, Michael Stewart

10:30 AM: Charles Blue,
William (Bleu) Colegrove, Carlos Jimenez

12:00 Noon: AJ McBrayer,
David Galvez, Greg Cesarek

1:30 PM: Kenneth White,
James Sims, Guillermo (Willie) Flores

3:00 PM: Luther (Rick) Prewitt Jr.,
Chris Wilken, Melvin Thompson

4:30 PM: Joe Morris Jr.,
Guy Giordano, Monique Dudley

6:00: Alice Dotson,
Tyrone Cephers, Joseph Miller

7:30 PM: Mark Ijames,
Tommy Schultz, Sergio Gonzales

Liaison to the Officials:
J. Berry Roberts

Commissioner of Officials:
Dave Whatton

Liaison to the Teams:
Brian Wilson, Raymond Smith

Mike Boese

Table Crew Chief:
Dale López

William Ackerley
Carlos Delgado
Dale López

Shot Clock
Anthony Delgado
Alejandro Delgado López
Jim Markert

Scoreboard Operators:
Eddie Contreras
Alejandro Delgado López
Joe Porter
Kris Ritzmann

Brian Alday
Mike Boese
Eddie Contreras
Tom Forbes
Dale López
Joe Porter

Official Scorers:
Danielle Clyden
Tom Danehy
Dale López
Rosina Ritzmann
J. Berry Roberts